The FaceApp Aging App Is Blowing Up, But Does It Affect Our Privacy?

If you’ve scrolled through social media over the past few days, chances are you’ve seen your friends and some of your favorite famous follows looking a bit, er, older. Thanks to the face-altering FaceApp tool, users have been getting a glimpse at their visual futures by uploading their photos.

Everyone from the Jonas Brothers to Ludacris to Drake to has gotten in on the popular trend, sharing pics of their potential senior citizen selves.

View this post on Instagram

feeling cute might delete later 😌

A post shared by Lil Nas X (@lilnasx) on

View this post on Instagram

Best caption wins ovo tickets

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

View this post on Instagram

Jwoww & Coco

A post shared by Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi (@snooki) on

It’s all fun and games until our security could be at stake, right? Well, some experts — including Digitas strategy partner James Whatley — are raising security issues about the app’s terms of service agreement. Some of the fine print reportedly states, “You grant FaceApp a perpetual, irrevocable, nonexclusive royalty-free, worldwide, fully-paid, transferable sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, publicly perform and display your User Content and any name, username or likeness provided in connection with your User Content in all media formats and channels now known or later developed, without compensation to you.”

Now the app’s founder, Yaroslav Goncharov is addressing any concerns. He told People, “We might store an uploaded photo in the cloud. The main reason for that is performance and traffic: we want to make sure that the user doesn’t upload the photo repeatedly for every edit operation. Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours from the upload date.”

Users were additionally worried that the app could access their photo libraries, to which he responded, “FaceApp performs most of the photo processing in the cloud. We only upload a photo selected by a user for editing. We never transfer any other images from the phone to the cloud.”

Comments